this post was submitted on 21 Aug 2025
10 points (100.0% liked)

Dungeons and Dragons

12606 readers
1 users here now

A community for discussion of all things Dungeons and Dragons! This is the catch all community for anything relating to Dungeons and Dragons, though we encourage you to see out our Networked Communities listed below!

/c/DnD Network Communities

Other DnD and related Communities to follow*

DnD/RPG Podcasts

*Please Follow the rules of these individual communities, not all of them are strictly DnD related, but may be of interest to DnD Fans

Rules (Subject to Change)

Format: [Source Name] Article Title

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
10
submitted 1 week ago* (last edited 1 week ago) by kinther@lemmy.world to c/dnd@lemmy.world
 

A saving throw—also called a save—represents an attempt to avoid or resist a threat. You normally make a saving throw only when a rule requires you to do so, but you can decide to fail the save without rolling. The result of a save is detailed in the effect that allowed it. If a target is forced to make a save and lacks the ability score used by it, the target automatically fails.

Page 373 of PHB 2024

Bolded section is what I am concerned with. Does this mean that if I am a Barbarian with Strength/Constitution saving throw proficiency, that I automatically fail when needing to perform a Dexterity saving throw (because I do not have the ability score used by it)? Example here would be the Fireball spell cast by an enemy.

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] Moredekai@lemmy.world 9 points 1 week ago

No, it would mean if a target didn't have any dexterity that they would automatically fail it. I believe this would mainly be applying towards objects/the environment, but there are probably other contexts as well.